Jobs in India

Government District Judge

High Court Patna
Job Description
Post Name : District Judge (Entry Level)
No of Vacancy : 98 Posts
Pay Scale : Rs. 9300-34800/-
Grade Pay : Rs. 4600/-
Educational Qualification : 7 years of practice as Advocateon the Last date of receipt of Application as specified in the advertisement & at least 24 cases per year in the last 3 yeas.
Nationality : Indian
Age Limit : 35 to 50 years (as on 16.09.2016)
Job Location : Patna (Bihar)
Selection Process : Selection will be made on Written Test & Personal Interview.
How to Apply High Court Patna Vacancy : Interested candidates may apply Online through website from 22.08.2016 to 16.09.2016.
Candidate Profile
7 years of practice as Advocateon the Last date of receipt of Application as specified in the advertisement & at least 24 cases per year in the last 3 yeas.
Looking for Any Graduate graduates profile.
Company Profile
About High court patna
Proclamation made by the Governor-General of India on the 22nd March, 1912 the territories of Bihar and Orissa which were formerly subject to and included within the limits of the Presidency of Fort William in Bengal, were promoted to the status of a separate province, and by Letters Patent, dated the 9th February, 1916 the Patna High Court was ushered into existence with Circuit sittings at Cuttack, and form the 26th February, 1916, the date on which the aforesaid Letters Patent was published in the Gazette of India, the High Court of Judicature at Fort William in Bengal ceased to exercise jurisdiction, Civil, Criminal, Admiralty, Matrimonial, Testamentary and Intestate, Enrolment, etc. in all matters in which jurisdiction was given to the High Court of Judicature at Patna. Thus the ancient city of Pataliputra had a High Court of its own in 1916 with Sir Edward Maynard Des Champs Chamier, Kt. Barrister-at-Law as its first Chief Justice and Sarvashri Saiyid Sharfuddin, Barrister-at-Law, Edmund Pelly Chapman, I.C.S., Basant Kumar Mullick, I.C.S., Francis, Reginald Roe, I.C.S, Cecil Atkinson, barrister-at-Law and Jwala Prasad, B.A., LL.B., as Puisne Judges.

The Patna High Court building on its completion was formally opened by the same Viceroy in a durbar held for the purpose on Thursday. The 3rd February, 1916. On this occasion Lord Hardinge made the following observations :- "I am about to perform an almost unique duty and one which I do not think has fallen to the lot of any previous Viceroy I think when I look at this fine building that the people of this province may congratulate themselves in many ways on their new institution. It will be itself is an emblem of the great, and, perhaps, even weightier, in its decision as between the individual and the State With my most earnest wishes that the labour of this Court may be inspired with wisdom, justice and mercy I will now proceed to open the building." The High Court actually commenced work from the 1st March, 1916. On that day the Honble Judges wore full court dress. They were robed in red gowns, wigs, black knee breeches, black silk stockings and buckled patent leather shoes. Exactly at 10.35 the Judges entered the Chief Justices Court room and took their seats on red morocco stuffed armless chairs on the dais. The Registrar of the Court, the Commissioner of the Division, the Commissioner of Excise and Registration and some local high officials took their seat on the dais behind the Judges. The Judges were welcomed on behalf of the Bar by Maulana Mazharul Haq, Barrister-at-Law. The Honble the Chief Justice then announced the establishment of a High Court of Judicature for the province of Bihar and Orissa and the transfer of Jurisdiction Hitherto exercised in the province by the High court of Judicature at Fort William in Bengal to this Court.

The Patna High Court started its work in 1916 with the Chief Justice and six puisne Judges. In the year 1947, the sanctioned strength of the Court was nine permanent and three additional Judges. Though a separate province for Orissa was created in the year 1937, this High Court exercised jurisdiction over the territories of that province till 26th July, 1948, when a separate High Court was constituted for Orissa. Even after the constitution of the Orissa High Court, the sanctioned strength of Judges for this Court remained the same. In February, 1950, the three posts of Additional Judges were made permanent. The post of the 13th permanent Judge was sanctioned in September, 1952, and that of the 14th permanent Judge in January, 1956. Since then there has been no increase in the sanctioned strength of the permanent Judges of the Court. Four posts of Additional Judges have also been sanctioned from time to time since July, 1957. In November, 1965 there were 14 permanent Judges, including the Chief Justice and three Additional Judges. At present there are 29 permanent Judges including the Chief Justice and 14 Additional Judges. In the year 1916, when the Patna High Court was created, there were 11 judgeships under its control in Bihar and one in Orissa. In the year 1947, there were 13 judgeships in Bihar, Orissa having already been constituted into a separate province with a separate High Court of its own in 1948. The judgeships of Hazaribagh and Palamau were created on 4th April, 1949 and 18th July, 1960 respectively. Formerly, there was only one judgeship for the districts of Manbhum and Singhbhum with headquarters at Purulia. After the transfer of a portion of the district of Manbhum including Purulia to West Bengal, the remaining portion of the Manbhum district, thereafter, known as the district of Dhanbad, and the district of Singhbhum were formed into a new judgeship and sessions Division with effect from the 1st November, 1956 with headquarters at Dhanbad. On 4th February, 1960 a separate judgeship for Singhbhum was created with headquarters at Chaibasa. There are thus 16 judgeships at present as against 17 districts. A separate judgeship for Saharsa has also been sanctioned. With the creation of a separate judgeship for Saharsa the number of judgeship under the control and supervision of the High Court would be increased to 17. On 15th November, 2000 on the bifurcation of the erstwhile State of Bihar, a new State of Jharkhand came in the existence and 13 Judgeships remained with the newly created State of Jharkhand. At present there are altogether 31 Judgeship in the State of Bihar with the creation of Jamui and Sheohar Judgeship in the yrs. 2005 and 2012 respectfully.
Post Resume Free
Want latest jobs in alert?
More Information
Location Patna
Education Any Graduate
Experience 0 (yrs)
Industry Government Jobs
Share Us With Others
Post Resume Free
Latest Sarkari Naukri and Results Alert

Similar Jobs to Government District Judge Jobs

Jipmer Jawaharlal Institute Of Postgraduate Medical Education Research
Hmt Machine Tools Limited
Brbnmpl Bharatiya Reserve Bank Note Mudran Private Limited
Ap Psc Andhra Pradesh Psc
Uped Uttar Pradesh Employment Department
Contact Us Terms of Services Privacy Policy Government Jobs Sarkari Naukri Rojgar Samachar Nausena Bharti

Follow us on : Find us on Facebook Find us on Google+ Find us on Twitter

2018 - All Rights Reserved
Looking for Jobs? Click Here Post Your Resume Free !